Who does what

Office: 

512-930-4824

M-F 8am–Noon;

1–5 p.m.

Mail:

Williamson County Sun
P.O. Box 39
Georgetown, TX 78627

Delivery:
707 Main Street,
Georgetown, TX 78626

Subscribe
Jessica McClary
circ@wilcosun.com
512-930-4824 ext. 203
[subscribe online]

 

 

News
Clark Thurmond
Publisher
clark@wilcosun.com
ext. 210

 

linda scarbrough
Publisher

linda@wilcosun.com

 

Lorraine Brady

Editor
editor@wilcosun.com
ext. 217

 

County, Health &
Crime News

BRAD STUTZMAN
Reporter
editor@cityweek.org

county@wilcosun.com
ext. 216

 

City News

Charlotte Kovalchuk
Reporter

city@wilcosun.com

ext. 218

 

School News

Shannon Lowry
Reporter
school@wilcosun.com

 

Sports News
sports@wilcosun.com

 

Business News
biz@wilcosun.com

 

Letter to the Editor

Rules on letters
We welcome brief letters and so do our readers. Letters are edited for length and to meet Sun style conventions. All letters must include your name, full address and a telephone number where we can reach you during the day. This information is never published, but we do publish street names to avoid confusion between people similarly named. Letters should be no more than 250 words in length. Send your message in email text; no attachments will be accepted.
E-mail letters to:

letters@wilcosun.com

Business & Billing
Kathryn Manasco
General Manager
accounting@wilcosun.com
ext. 208

On a Saturday, May 19, 1877, The Williamson County Sun printed its first issue, a simple four-page broadsheet newspaper.

The issue you hold today is the most recent of a series that has now continued, without interruption, for 142 years. At first, the Sun rented space on the third floor of the first courthouse built on the Square. Two more courthouses have been built since then.

In 1881, the Sun moved into the stone building at 711 Main Street on the east side of the Square. In 1936 the newspaper bought and moved into the 2-story building next door where the paper is still printed today.

Throughout its history, the Sun has always been locally owned and today is in its 70th year of family ownership. The Sun is not only the oldest newspaper in the county, it is the oldest business in the county, having operated continuously in its original form for 142 years.

Originally, and today, the Sun is the newspaper of the county seat and focuses on news of Georgetown, the central county area and county government.

In 1974, the Sun added a weekend paper, The Sunday Sun. In 1981 it launched an advertising companion, The Sun Advertiser.

Advertise
Business Advertising

Dawn Steele
ads@wilcosun.com
ext. 202

 

Inserts

inserts@wilcosun.com

 

Classified advertising
class@wilcosun.com
512-930-4824

 

Legal Notice
legals@wilcosun.com

 

Outside Newspaper Printing
Matthew Brake

Production Manager
production@wilcosun.com
ext. 223

Community Events
Our weekly community calendar, keeps you informed on what's happening around town.
 
To have your event included, please send your information to roundabout@wilcosun.com

 

Announcements
Obituaries & Memorials
obit@wilcosun.com
512-930-4824

 

Celebrations

Share your engagement, wedding, birth, birthday or anniversary announcements with the Sun, or publicly thank a person or business with a Card of Thanks!
celebrations@wilcosun.com